Post #1

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

16 craters on Ceres now have official names
http://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/SearchRe...er%2C%20craters

The crater with the main bright spots is now named Occator

I'm working on a quick map with the names

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Jul 7 2015, 07:44 PM
Post #2

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

And here's that map with names (the mosaic map by Steve Albers)

Attached Image

So Spot 5 crater is Occator. Spot 1 crater is Haulani.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
Habukaz
post Jul 7 2015, 07:46 PM
Post #3

Group: Members
Member No.: 7310

I guess that makes them the Occator spots. Could the spots themselves receive a name, as an albedo feature or something?

Nice map.

--------------------

+Quote Post
MarsInMyLifetime
post Jul 7 2015, 09:34 PM
Post #4

Member No.: 6108

QUOTE (volcanopele @ Jul 7 2015, 01:07 PM) *
16 craters on Ceres now have official names
http://planetarynames.wr.usgs.gov/SearchRe...er%2C%20craters

The crater with the main bright spots is now named Occator

I'm working on a quick map with the names

If they were to add Exeter and Interocitor as names I think I would turn blue with nerdy excitement.

--------------------
--
Don

+Quote Post
dvandorn
post Jul 7 2015, 11:16 PM
Post #5

Member No.: 15

Trying to get my head around how to pronounce the Spot 5 crater, I googled the name. Lots and lots of results identifying Occator as the God of the Harrow (or hoeing, in modern parlance), whose spirit was invoked by priests of Ceres, but very little with useful pronunciation guides.

What little I found suggests it is pronounced ah-CATE-ore. Not OCK-a-tore.

--------------------