IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Is IDL the only way to view Venus Express Data?
ncc1701d
post May 19 2015, 04:35 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1063

Hi all,
Does anyone know of a way to view the Venus Express Data without purchasing the $2500.00 IDL software?
I get the impression thats the only way. I am a novice amateur and looking for alternatives. thanks

ftp://psa.esac.esa.int/pub/mirror/VENUS-E...-2-3-EXT1-V2.0/
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
mcaplinger
post May 19 2015, 05:10 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 497

PDS data is supposed to be fairly simple and easy to interpret. There are a number of ways to view PDS QUBE format (they're really just stacked 2D images.)

GDL is an open-source alternative to IDL that may be compatible with the IDL scripts on these volumes, http://gnudatalanguage.sourceforge.net/ But if you don't know IDL already there is likely going to be a steep learning curve.

--------------------
Disclaimer: This post is based on public information only. Any opinions are my own.

+Quote Post
cndwrld
post May 19 2015, 09:21 AM
Post #3

Member No.: 1743

QUOTE (ncc1701d @ May 19 2015, 06:35 AM) *
Hi all,
Does anyone know of a way to view the Venus Express Data without purchasing the $2500.00 IDL software?
I get the impression thats the only way. I am a novice amateur and looking for alternatives. thanks

ftp://psa.esac.esa.int/pub/mirror/VENUS-E...-2-3-EXT1-V2.0/

You can try the Tools page at the Planetary Science Archive here. Perhaps there is something there of use. Since I'm inside the ESA intranet, I may get redirected to an internal version of the page. So if that link doesn't work, you can Google the Planetary Science Archive at ESAC to get to the page. From the PSA pages, you should be able to find a contact link where you could ask the PSA people for help with your particular question.

--------------------
--
cndwrld@yahoo.com

+Quote Post
ncc1701d
post May 19 2015, 05:18 PM
Post #4