Reply to this topicStart new topic
Io, Still A Mystery Moon
volcanopele
post Sep 7 2006, 09:26 PM
Post #1

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

http://www.planetary.org/blog/article/00000692/

Rosaly Lopes has a new blog post on the Planetary Society blog on the mysteries still surrounding Everyone's Favorite Moon (and if it isn't your favorite moon, then may a giant, falling chunk of komatiite greet you biggrin.gif ). She aludes to the upcoming observations by New Horizons to study surface changes and volcanic activity on Io, and to an upcoming book, on Io. The book, Io After Galileo, is currently on Amazon, but rest assured, it will be available until early 2007.

here is a link to the book's Amazon.com page:

http://www.amazon.com/Galileo-Springer-Pra...TF8&s=books

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Guest_AlexBlackwell_*
post Sep 7 2006, 10:03 PM
Post #2

Guests

Thanks for the heads-up, Jason. I also recommend The Volcano Adventure Guide.

+Quote Post
helvick
post Sep 7 2006, 10:51 PM
Post #3

Dublin Correspondent

Group: Admin
Member No.: 220

(and if it isn't your favorite moon, then may a giant, falling chunk of komatiite greet you biggrin.gif

With you there bud, 100%. There is only one moon that is truly a _real_ moon, eh. Take your dwarf panets and smoke them but Io will remain the one really genuine active extraterretrial for some time to come. Yeeeeeehaaaaw.

+Quote Post
David
post Sep 7 2006, 11:42 PM
Post #4

Group: Members
Member No.: 56

QUOTE (helvick @ Sep 7 2006, 10:51 PM) *
With you there bud, 100%. There is only one moon that is truly a _real_ moon, eh. Take your dwarf panets and smoke them but Io will remain the one really genuine active extraterretrial for some time to come. Yeeeeeehaaaaw.

Titan? Enceladus? Triton? E____a?

+Quote Post
nprev
post Sep 8 2006, 02:36 AM
Post #5

Merciless Robot

Member No.: 602