2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Titan's Caspian Sea
volcanopele
post May 23 2007, 06:50 PM
Post #1

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

A new RADAR image of a portion of Titan's "Caspian Sea" was just publically released:

http://photojournal.jpl.nasa.gov/catalog/PIA09211

I have to say, this is an incredible view. The first thing I though of was how much it looked like the coastline in the Pacific Northwest.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ugordan
post May 23 2007, 06:55 PM
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 523

Sweet! That's some truly radar dark stuff, the sea ought to be pretty darn deep at least in this view. Practically no RADAR backscatter, apart from instrument noise.

--------------------

+Quote Post
tty
post May 23 2007, 07:22 PM
Post #3

Member No.: 273

QUOTE (volcanopele @ May 23 2007, 08:50 PM) *
The first thing I though of was how much it looked like the coastline in the Pacific Northwest.

I must beg to differ. The pacific northwest is a typical ex-glaciated fjord coast. This looks much more like a ria coastline where rising sealevels has invaded a flattish landscape with a subdued drainage pattern. The coast of Virginia and North Carolina minus the barrier islands would in me opinion be a better parallell. In any case there is probably not enough energy to form barrier islands on Titan.

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post May 23 2007, 07:29 PM
Post #4

Member No.: 23

While geologically the eastern coast of the US may provide a better analog, I think the coast in the Pacific Northwest provides a better visual analog, given the sharper topography.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
djellison
post May 23 2007, 07:32 PM
Post #5

Founder

Group: Chairman
Member No.: 1

That is just jaw droppingly good.