Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Saturn's bared mini-moons
Guest_AlexBlackwell_*
post Mar 29 2006, 05:52 PM
Post #1

Guests

There is a new Cassini-related paper by Tiscareno et al. (and accompanying News and Views piece by Spahn and Schmidt) in the March 30, 2006, issue of Nature. See also the Editor's Summary: Propelled into the limelight.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Guest_AlexBlackwell_*
post Mar 29 2006, 07:22 PM
Post #2

Guests

Saturn’s Rings Created by Collision
By Ker Than
Staff Writer, Space.com
posted: 29 March 2006
12:37 pm ET

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Mar 29 2006, 07:32 PM
Post #3

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

Here's the link to the image releases for this news item:

http://ciclops.org/view_event.php?id=50

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
Guest_Richard Trigaux_*
post Mar 29 2006, 08:01 PM
Post #4

Guests

Before jumping to conclusions, I would like to see a statistics of the ring particule sizes.

Since there was working models found to expain the Moon by a collision, everybody see collisions everywhere and present collisions as the standard and only theory. There are still several other theories to explain Saturn rings, including a formation in the same time as Saturn, or a larger satellite comming too close to Saturn and breaking appart with tidal forces.