IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
need help. how to uncompress .img files from magellan
JohnVV
post Jan 7 2011, 07:16 AM
Post #16


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 532
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 4489



if you want it is cylindrical you could grab them from PDS map a planet
and they will BE in that format if you choose it
http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer/venus.html
http://pdsmaps.wr.usgs.gov/PDS/public/expl...l/gredrintm.htm
http://pdsmaps.wr.usgs.gov/PDS/public/expl...ml/gtdrintm.htm

there is a size restriction and it might take 24 hours for a 2 gig image to have a ink mailed to you.

but when i made the map for celestia i used the data listed on the pds geosciences page
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/missions/.../gxdr/index.htm
the gredr
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/geo/mgn-v.../mg_3002/gredr/
mixed with the data from gedr
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/geo/mgn-v...1/mg_3002/gedr/
and the topo map
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/geo/mgn-v...1/mg_3002/gtdr/
mixed with some of
http://pds-geosciences.wustl.edu/geo/mgn-v...1/mg_3002/gsdr/

then a BUNCH of "inpainting"


but you are using Microsoft ???? hhhmmmm might be fun
i used ISIS3 on linux
but the north and south are in polar stereo projection and Gimp can remap that to cylinder
so can the old AND STILL GOOD tool MMPS
http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~arcus/mmps/
i do not know if there is a prebuilt windows
I DO know it dose build on windows xp using MinGW - i did that a few years back
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ncc1701d
post Jan 7 2011, 08:31 AM
Post #17


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-August 06
Member No.: 1063



thanks siravan
I got it to work. My problem was the original file got corrupted somehow so it was screwing up program.
From what I understand the final image should be 8466 wide by 2830 pixels height. After running newmap the output image information it generated was 2830 lines x 8466 samples.
Your image size of 2116x707 pixel. Where did you get that size?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ncc1701d
post Jan 7 2011, 08:43 AM
Post #18


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-August 06
Member No.: 1063




JohnVV
I used to use pdsmaps and it was very helpfull but it looks to me now the content wont show up. Does it still work for you showing content and everything? I just see an icon where images should show up.

mapaplanet I dont like much. I miss lat and long boxes for finding your way around like pdsmaps had. Some small features are harder to find your way back to in mapaplanet
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnVV
post Jan 7 2011, 10:27 AM
Post #19


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 532
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 4489



some of it still works
http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer/venus.html
leftlook
http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer-bin/exp...mp;resolution=2

you need to use the advanced option on the left
10 deg bonding box
http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer-bin/exp...mp;center_lat=0
and a bigger
http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer-bin/exp...mp;center_lat=0


there is a windows build of a program i use " FWTools "
http://fwtools.maptools.org/
http://fwtools.maptools.org/windows-main.html
it DOSE run on XP might but on Windows 7 ? i do not know

now it will NOT open IMG files it DOSE open them as raw
and that is nice BECAUSE it not onlt will work with 8 bit ( 256 tone) but also
16 bit Unsinged AND singed AND in LSB AND msb
-- that is VERY VERY VERY important on windows some 16 bit gray images ( 65536 tones of gray )
are in LSB and some are in MSB - this IS A VERY big pain in the butt using MS Windows
then add in singed and unsinged and it is a BIGGER mess
it also opens up 32 bit floating point images

now above you posted the dimensions "8466 wide by 2830"
BUT the header states there are 2833 lines in the file ( this includes the text header ) .
So they need to be "skipped" in the raw import

this one is 3 full lines so it can just be cropped after , at some latter time .But not always , it "could be 1/3 of 1 row -- then the image will look very odd.


i use Ghex ( linux)
http://live.gnome.org/Ghex
hexedit might do for windows
http://www.hexedit.com/download.htm
or
http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/
and read the text part of the file

now OpenEV ( one the main tools in fwtools) using "Proj4" can remap them to simple cyc
and do that in the GUI
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elakdawalla
post Jan 7 2011, 05:03 PM
Post #20


Bloggette par Excellence
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 4466
Joined: 4-August 05
From: Pasadena, CA, USA, Earth
Member No.: 454



QUOTE (ncc1701d @ Jan 7 2011, 12:43 AM) *
mapaplanet I dont like much. I miss lat and long boxes for finding your way around like pdsmaps had. Some small features are harder to find your way back to in mapaplanet

It took me a little while to get used to the new mapaplanet, but as JohnVV said you just need to open the advanced options on lower left and you can input lat/lon and even change the longitude of projection, which is nice. My only complaint about mapaplanet is that it is slow.


--------------------
My blog - @elakdawalla on Twitter - Please support unmannedspaceflight.com by donating here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Phil Stooke
post Jan 7 2011, 08:44 PM
Post #21


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 5732
Joined: 5-April 05
From: Canada
Member No.: 227



I agree, I use Map-a-Planet all the time and really like it, though it is slow and offline a bit too often.

Phil


--------------------
... because the Solar System ain't gonna map itself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ncc1701d
post Jan 7 2011, 08:54 PM
Post #22


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-August 06
Member No.: 1063



ok here is little more clarification about what bugs me on mapaplanet. I have played with advanced before and wish their was center of latitude field as well. Maybe your guys expertise will help.
Given the information provided here concerning pankake volcanoes

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:PIA00084...e_volcanoes.jpg

it says
This Magellan full resolution mosaic, centered at 12.3 north latitude, 8.3 degrees east longitude,

In this new advanced tool area I can enter in a 8.3 in the "center of longitude of projection field" at the bottom and I suppose I can do some guessing to enter in the right number in the north,west,east south fields and may find my way.
I am not successuful at it.
I would be curious how fast the experts can find out this volcano location in mapaplanet given the information above

verses pdsmaps where you just enter in fields a center of long and lat and then just set the long lat boxes of degrees to view.


and...

Also then if i enter in the wrong numbers when guessing the nortt,west,east,south my center of long of projection changes and other numbers automatically change and then I start getting lost.

Maybe this should be easier and I am missing something simple? I just dont remember having all these issues in pdsmaps





Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elakdawalla
post Jan 7 2011, 09:08 PM
Post #23


Bloggette par Excellence
****

Group: Admin
Posts: 4466
Joined: 4-August 05
From: Pasadena, CA, USA, Earth
Member No.: 454



OK, I see your problem. The "Center of Projection" longitude has nothing to do with where the image is centered. It has to do with how the image is projected -- sinusoidal projection is a projection where only one line of longitude is vertical, and all other longitude lines are sinusoidal curves that converge toward the pole. Typically you want the center of projection to be the center longitude of the image, which is the mapaplanet default; there's only rare circumstances where you'd want to specify a different longitude (mostly having to do with building large mosaics out of several chunks).

Here's how I find your volcanoes. Go to http://www.mapaplanet.org/explorer/venus.html. Pick Left-Look FMAPs. Click Advanced Options. You want a map centered at about 12 north, 8 east. So I'd put in 22, 2 for north and south and -2, 18 for east and west and click "Submit Changes." Oops, I get an image only 40 pixels square. No problem, I just bump the resolution up from 2 pix/deg to 100 pix/deg. Go away for a few minutes while it thinks. Curse when I come back and it tells me the "connection was reset." Bump the resolution to 50 pix/deg, and in 5 seconds I have a nice picture and I see those pancake volcanoes right in the middle. Use the mouse to draw a bounding box around the area I'm interested in and it automatically zooms, using the pixel extent of my previous map. I ask it for a gaussian stretch and bump the resolution up a bit more, to half the full resolution (704 pix/deg) and attached is what I get (warning, it's 4 MB). There is a link at lower right where you can view it as a JPEG; using the "shopping cart" you can download it in a lossless format. For illustration purposes here's one at 10% the full resolution.
Attached Image

Because the area you picked in this example sits on the equator, mapaplanet defaulted to showing it in simple cylindrical projection rather than sinusoidal, so the "center of projection" thing is completely meaningless, by the way.

The whole process (including writing this post) took me about 7 min.
Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
 


--------------------
My blog - @elakdawalla on Twitter - Please support unmannedspaceflight.com by donating here.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ncc1701d
post Jan 7 2011, 11:54 PM
Post #24


Junior Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 21-August 06
Member No.: 1063



Thank you. I found it.
Just out of curiosity did you think the pdsmaps was easier to use or does it make a difference in your mind given your expertise in the business?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JohnVV
post Jan 8 2011, 12:27 AM
Post #25


Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 532
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 4489



early on i liked pds-map-a-planet
for the simple reason that i had NO CLUE what to do with a .img, or .imq or .pds
and on Windows at the time ( pre 2004 ) the software was very limited , still is.
at the time i as just switching from the photo darkroom to the computer so i had a bit of knowledge of digital images

now years later ( and still "learning" ISIS3 /IDL / other programs )
-- it is like the game "go" 10 min to learn and a lifetime to master . ---

now it is much easier to import ( say fl73n003new.img) into isis3 and make a map file and remap


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 01:46 PM
RULES AND GUIDELINES
Please read the Forum Rules and Guidelines before posting.

IMAGE COPYRIGHT
Images posted on UnmannedSpaceflight.com may be copyrighted. Do not reproduce without permission. Read here for further information on space images and copyright.

OPINIONS AND MODERATION
Opinions expressed on UnmannedSpaceflight.com are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of UnmannedSpaceflight.com or The Planetary Society. The all-volunteer UnmannedSpaceflight.com moderation team is wholly independent of The Planetary Society. The Planetary Society has no influence over decisions made by the UnmannedSpaceflight.com moderators.
SUPPORT THE FORUM
Unmannedspaceflight.com is a project of the Planetary Society and is funded by donations from visitors and members. Help keep this forum up and running by contributing here.