Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Name for 2003 EL61, Welcome Haumea, Hi'iaka, and Namaka to the Solar System
volcanopele
post Sep 17 2008, 06:26 PM
Post #1

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

No, it's not Santa (or was this one Easter Bunny). Everyone's favorite egg-shaped world now has a name: Haumea, from Hawaiian mythology. Haumea's two moons have been named Hi'iaka (still one of my favorite volcanoes on Io, along with Gish Bar, Thor, and Tvashtar) and Namaka, both daughters of Haumea. Of course, this opens up the possibility that a third moon would be named Pele.

Definitely prefer this to Makemake.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Paolo Amoroso
post Sep 17 2008, 06:34 PM
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 1633

Mike Brown's account of the discovery and naming.

Paolo Amoroso

--------------------
Avventure Planetarie - Blog sulla comunicazione e divulgazione scientifica

+Quote Post
laurele
post Sep 18 2008, 02:29 AM
Post #3

Member No.: 1183

Post on planetary definition deleted. RULES ARE RULES. - Admin

+Quote Post
Guest_PhilCo126_*
post Sep 18 2008, 08:54 AM
Post #4

Guests

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haumea_(dwarf_planet)

http://www.astro.yale.edu/smarts/smarts1.3m.html

http://pegasus.astro.yale.edu/smarts/

rolleyes.gif

+Quote Post
Vultur
post Sep 19 2008, 08:17 PM
Post #5

Member No.: 4334

That is a weird-looking thing. Looks sort of like Mesklin from Hal Clement's "Mission of Gravity".

I wonder if New Horizons will find other oddly shaped KBOs?

+Quote Post
Mark6
post Nov 20 2008, 03:43 AM
Post #6

Member No.: 435

QUOTE (Vultur @ Sep 19 2008, 09:17 PM) *
That is a weird-looking thing. Looks sort of like Mesklin from Hal Clement's "Mission of Gravity".