Reply to this topicStart new topic
JPL Open House October 10-11, 2015
hendric
post Aug 25 2015, 02:33 PM
Post #1

Director of Galilean Photography

Group: Members
Member No.: 93

JPL open house is aligning this year with my son's fall break, and my wife happens to be in Anaheim that week for the International Test Conference. Anyone else planning to go? Any tips on getting the best experience? Is anyone local able to organize a UMSF meetup? I'm also a ham radio operator, so we can setup meeting via radio on-site.

--------------------
Space Enthusiast Richard Hendricks
--
"The engineers, as usual, made a tremendous fuss. Again as usual, they did the job in half the time they had dismissed as being absolutely impossible." --Rescue Party, Arthur C Clarke
Mother Nature is the final inspector of all quality.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
hendric
post Oct 26 2015, 04:26 PM
Post #2

Director of Galilean Photography

Member No.: 93

Finally got our pictures sorted from JPL open house. Due to a failed mission requirement, we didn't bring the good camera, so everything was done with smartphone cameras.

https://hendric.smugmug.com/Vacation/201510...House/i-v4TTkHc

Really wish we could have come both days, but we had to fly back Sunday. Getting to JPL from Disneyland/Anaheim was about as harrowing as a Mars landing, with complex traffic flow patterns and jams. Due to Google Maps screwing us yet again, we had to pull a Akatsuki-like manuever through a "roll em up" part of LA to get back on mission. Note to future travelers - Bring a real GPS, don't rely on your phone! Open House was crazy busy this year compared to 10 years ago when we last went. We vowed to never come again, but I bet if the planets align again we'll probably be there.

We focused on the hardware side of things with visits to the high bays, rovers, etc. My favorite parts:

The tool "vending machine" in the high bay.