Reply to this topicStart new topic
Other Satellites On Tc
tedstryk
post Dec 22 2004, 01:07 PM
Post #1

Interplanetary Dumpster Diver

Group: Admin
Member No.: 33

Other than the Iapetus encounter, I noticed that flybys of Mimas (108,000 km), Enceladus (189,000 km), and Rhea (153,500km) are mentioned. Is anything planned for these flybys? I would normally just assume no, given their proximity to the Huygens mission (they are all on the 16th). But considering the Ta and Tc information sheets didn't mention the Tethys non-targeted flyby on Ta, I am surprised that they are mentioned at all. Given this, is any imaging planned?

Ted

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Dec 22 2004, 02:35 PM
Post #2

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

The one I know for sure about is Rhea, where we should get a good view of its giant ray crater (rays are giant, the crater itself maybe fairly small)

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
tedstryk
post Dec 22 2004, 02:55 PM
Post #3

Great to hear. Will this include any of the wispy terrain?

--------------------

+Quote Post
Bjorn Jonsson
post Dec 25 2004, 11:17 PM
Post #4

IMG to PNG GOD

Member No.: 38

QUOTE (volcanopele @ Dec 22 2004, 02:35 PM)
The one I know for sure about is Rhea, where we should get a good view of its giant ray crater (rays are giant, the crater itself maybe fairly small)

Do you know the approximate latitude and longitude of that crater ? I don't see it in Voyager-derived maps of Rhea (or maybe it's not obvious there), yet most of the areas in view in mid-January were rather well imaged by Voyager 1.

+Quote Post
Decepticon
post Dec 26 2004, 04:59 AM
Post #5

Group: Members
Member No.: 114

QUOTE (Bjorn Jonsson @ Dec 25 2004, 06:17 PM)
QUOTE (volcanopele @ Dec 22 2004, 02:35 PM)