4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic
geology of Gale Crater and Mount Sharp
David Palmer
post Jun 21 2014, 01:49 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 7202

The idea that the Lower Formation of Mt. Sharp is of lacustrine origin (lakebed sediments) has rather fallen out of favor recently, but I just finished my essay on Mars, "An Interpretation of the Geology of Gale Crater & Mount Sharp, with Implications for the History & Habitability of Mars," which I have spent over one year researching and writing, and the primary thrust of this paper is to offer a fresh defense of the lacustrine model, incorporating some fairly original ideas on my part. I'm not a professional scientist, but this is a labor of love that springs from a near-lifelong interest in Mars (since I was a young boy in the 1960s). And I'm trying to publicize it prior to Curiosity reaching Mt. Sharp, as that will be a test of my theories, and I'm hoping to get some recognition if I'm right. So here's the link for all interested readers: http://galecratergeology1.tumblr.com/post/...le-crater-mount
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
PDP8E
post Jun 21 2014, 08:23 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 1241

Hi David,

What A fact filled first post!
Your paper is thought provoking, and I was surprised to find part 2, 3, and 4 after I finished reading the first!
Thanks for sharing and we shall see how your theory fits reality in the coming weeks, months, and years.
(I always thought those channels looked young!)

NOT SWEET! (read it to find out!)

cheers!

--------------------
CLA CLL

+Quote Post
elakdawalla
post Jun 23 2014, 03:33 PM
Post #3

Administrator

Group: Admin
Member No.: 454