stevesliva
post Sep 2 2020, 08:41 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 530

From fall 2020 OPAG https://www.lpi.usra.edu/opag/meetings/opag2020fall/

Persephone:
https://www.lpi.usra.edu/opag/meetings/opag...Howett_6005.pdf

There is talk of extended missions out to 2079. Building cathedrals for our grandkids here...
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Explorer1
post Sep 3 2020, 03:25 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 5221

The Voyagers have lasted that long, we know.
Slide 40 (Data volume) is particularly poignant and rams home the scale, in time and space, of these endeavors: 584 megabytes of data over a generation; that's not even an hour episode of a TV show today. How much smaller will that seem by the 2070s? I cannot imagine.

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Sep 3 2020, 05:45 AM
Post #3

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

I think that's supposed to be 584 Gb over the course of the Pluto tour which seems pretty good given the distance.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
Explorer1
post Sep 3 2020, 06:42 AM
Post #4

Yes, I missed the digits. Still pretty modest by the next half century's standards, I would guess.

+Quote Post
vjkane
post Sep 3 2020, 02:53 PM
Post #5

Member No.: 351

Biggest problem that I see is finding the plutonium for 5 RTGs. I don't believe that the production rate would allow that in the next decade. And we probably are in game of which mission gets the Pu: Ice giants orbiter, Pluto mission, Enceladus lander, Europa lander, something else?

--------------------

+Quote Post
Steve G
post Sep 8 2020, 10:04 PM
Post #6

Member No.: 624