5 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Titan Review article
rlorenz
post Dec 14 2007, 05:02 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1764

This just out. Not earth-shattering, but colorful - maybe handy as an up-to-date
Titan intro

http://www.jhuapl.edu/techdigest/td2702/lorenz.pdf
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ugordan
post Dec 14 2007, 05:13 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 523

"Figure 1. A false-color composite of Cassini International Space Station (ISS) images."

biggrin.gif

--------------------

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Dec 14 2007, 05:42 PM
Post #3

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

Well, I guess the secret is out. The ISS camera is actually a space station attached to Cassini. So while Ralph and the others have to wait for there data to be played back, a group of us and I are actually in orbit around Saturn in our nice, comfortable station.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io

+Quote Post
djellison
post Dec 14 2007, 06:02 PM
Post #4

Founder

Group: Chairman
Member No.: 1

I assume the D is for Danger?

smile.gif

Doug

+Quote Post
remcook
post Dec 14 2007, 06:07 PM
Post #5

Rover Driver

Member No.: 47

Yeah that Space Station also makes its appearance in the New Solar System (I think) book smile.gif

edit - it was the encyclopedia of te solar system

+Quote Post
rlorenz
post Dec 16 2007, 03:57 PM
Post #6

Member No.: 1764

Hmm. So nice of you all to speak in such glowing terms about the content as a
whole rather than getting hung up on a typo........
Note to self - stop posting to UMSF, just causes grief.

The ISS mistranslation did not originate with me - I just checked my manuscript -
must have got introduced in typesetting. But I should have caught it at the
proofing stage.

(Doug - must be D for Deathwish)

+Quote Post
djellison
post Dec 16 2007, 04:29 PM
Post #7

Founder

Group: Chairman
Member No.: 1