4 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Mercury mosaics from January 2008 Flyby
volcanopele
post Jul 12 2008, 11:50 PM
Post #1

Group: Moderator
Member No.: 23

The raw data from MESSENGER's January 14, 2008 flyby of the planet Mercury are now online on NASA Planetary Data Service's website:

http://pds-imaging.jpl.nasa.gov/data/messe...grmds_1001_new/

As such, I am proud to present a series of mosaics I have created using these raw images. These use the mosaic designs shown on the MESSENGER project's Mercury Flyby 1 Visualization Tool webpage. These mosaics were created in either Photoshop CS3 (using the Photomerge tool) or PTGui Pro (particularly for the two MASSIVE mosaics).

Keep in mind that these mosaics are quite large in most cases, and it may be better just to right-click and save them to your hard drive to view them separately, rather than viewing them in your browser.

--------------------
&@^^!% Jim! I'm a geologist, not a physicist!
The Gish Bar Times - A Blog all about Jupiter's Moon Io
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
volcanopele
post Jul 13 2008, 12:07 AM
Post #2

Global Mosaic - January 14, 2008

http://pirlwww.lpl.arizona.edu/~perry/Mess...bal_mosaic1.png - PNG, 8145x9305, 24.0 MB
http://pirlwww.lpl.arizona.edu/~perry/Mess...bal_mosaic1.jpg - JPEG, 8145x9305, 6.2 MB

This global mosaic of Mercury consists of 87 MDIS Narrow-angle Camera images acquired during the MESSENGER spacecraft's January 14, 2008 flyby of Mercury. These images were acquired when MESSENGER was between 17,484 and 20,790 km from Mercury or between 53 and 63 minutes after closest approach. This mosaic has a resolution of 550 m/pixel. This mosaic uses calibrated MDIS images and the brightness was adjusted to improve the visibility of surface features. The features seen in this mosaic cover a significant portion of the terrain not seen by Mariner 10 during its three flybys in the 1970s.

--------------------

+Quote Post
volcanopele