Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Backups and Downtime
Unmanned Spaceflight.com > Forum Guide and Announcements > Forum Management Topics > Forum Maintenance
helvick
I'm making some manual backups of the server as the first stage of transferring the board to our new server. There will be a lot of traffic leaving the server at some stage over the next few hours as I test moving a full copy across.

I've carried out some partial tests, no apparent impact, but I'm not 100% certain that there will be no impact until I kick it off. If I see any impact I'll hit the cancel button, but if anyone else notices slowdowns or timeouts \ errors over the next few hours please leave a reply here.

helvick
This has now completed. There don't appear to have been any side effects that affected users, let me know if anyone noticed anything between +-00:00 GMT and 003:00 GMT.
helvick
I'll be carrying out some database maintenance over the weekend - there may be intermittent periods where the board will be unavailable during the following time slots:

00:00-01:00 GMT Saturday 25 August ( 16:00 - 17:00 PST Friday 24 August )
00:00-01:00 GMT Sunday 26 August ( 16:00 - 17:00 PST Saturday 25 August )
00:00-01:00 GMT Monday 27 August ( 16:00 - 17:00 PST Sunday 26 August )

Outages will not last longer than 5 minutes at a time.

JoeM
nprev
Joe, just to clarify: PST or PDT (which is what we're on now)?
helvick
Good catch, all times above were not referring to daylight saving time zones.

For for the relevant local Daylight Saving Time zones the start times will be:

US
-17:00 PDT
-20:00 EDT

European
-01:00 BST
-02:00 CEST

Australia
-10:00 EST ( Never knew Aus. Timezones could be confused with US ones, learn something new every day)

helvick
Just a reminder we may have spots of downtime starting in 60 minutes. The board will be unavailable for brief periods but I will ensure that none last longer than 5 minutes, and they should be significantly less.

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2014 Invision Power Services, Inc.